Mindfulness: The Journey Within

mindfulness300

Mindfulness:  the art of being in the present moment, noticing what is in front of you without judgment, complete awareness with all your senses, quiet time. It’s an opportunity to pay attention to the little moments with intention.  In essence, it’s replacing stress with peace.

People often say “you only live once.”  Maybe they feel this justifies their actions.  I’ve even caught myself saying this and here’s another one “life’s too short.”  Does this mean we can go around doing whatever we want and not pay attention because we get one shot and there’s no time left to do it?  “Might as well do it now because this might be our only chance” is something I heard as I was walking through a park this week.

But here’s the thing, when you think about it, we don’t live once.

We die once.

We live many moments in time which translates into many chances over many hours per day, weeks, months and years.  Time is not running out, maybe it’s us?  Where are we running to?  I think we are running around in circles and end up chasing our tail getting us nowhere.  The famous rat race.  Maybe it’s time to slow things down a bit.  The moment when you think you have no more time is the moment when you have to step back and become a mindful observer instead of a participant.

Breathe…..

Your breath will anchor you into your awareness so you can begin to see what is actually happening around you and within you.  Get in touch with your intuition because it’s trying to tell you something.  One thing I’ve learned about intuition is that it’s always right.

You will never be able to run away from yourself or your problems but if you slow down and acknowledge them without judgment and with mindfulness, it’s possible to return to your true self and create positive changes in your life.  This can be a tough and painful process but often an essential one to become more centered, more present.  When I feel stressed I know I need to be more present in my life.  When I am mindful of what I am feeling, I am able to transform that stress and be more grateful which increases my happiness.  It’s definitely worth a try, you have nothing to lose.

Being mindful doesn’t mean doing it all day sitting cross-legged.  It’s found in life’s little moments.

For example, we could be more mindful of what is happening like tasting our food, being present when spending time with children, going to sleep and the list goes on.  Sometimes I have a hard time falling asleep at night so I tried the mindfulness exercise and put my attention on my present moment lying in bed, feeling the sheets on me, how much I love my pillow, how cozy and warm I was under the covers.  I began to relax.  It was incredible how all the swirling thoughts began to calm down almost like a storm blowing over.  I had redirected my energy and brought on change with a simple thought process and a new focus.

In a matter of minutes, I fell asleep.  Wow…

What are some of your mindfulness exercises, stories, examples?

Here is an amazing short video of how kids explain how they calm down using mindfulness and just a little bit of glitter.  Just Breathe

Jennifer Juneau
Registered Nurse, Life Coach
jennifer.juneau1@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

