This Is India – Part 4

20160114_130610

January 13th– 15th, 2016 – Bhubaneswar, India (again..)

The Dehra Dun airport is the smallest one I’ve been in so far.  The same procedures happen as far as paying for excess baggage, going through security in the ladies line up, watching my 2 litre water bottle go through the scanner to be photographed again.   BUT….this time when my bottle reached the other side, a guard asked me to take a sip of the water in front of him.  My jaw hit the floor.  Now I was feeling more Canadian having someone being suspicious of my water bottle.  I twisted that cap off with a huge grin and gladly took a big sip.  He seemed to grin back at me and waved me off like I had passed the test.  Yayyy!!  This is India.  There seemed to be more foreigners like me in this airport because in Rishikesh it’s a big outdoor adventure town and people from all over the world go there to do things like bungee jumping, white water rafting and more.

When I arrived in Delhi I wanted a coffee so I went to the food court on the upper level.  What on earth did I see but a whole lot of pigeons flying and walking around in the food court!  For a moment I felt I was at the beach with the seagulls back home.  Here is a picture of Mr. Pigeon strutting his stuff in Delhi Airport.  This Is India.

20160115_141008 (2)

My connecting flight from Delhi to Bhubaneswar was great and the thing about flying within India whether it’s a two hour flight or more, they feed you.  Not just peanuts in a mini bag, a hot meal with silverware and it’s included in the price of your flight.  This is India.  This also makes me very happy 😛

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to check into the Mayfair again because they were full, but I did stay at another great place called The Swosti Hotel.  The staff were great but nothing compares to the Mayfair.  I got in late so I wasn’t able to see Darshith that night but we were able to text so that was great.  He was working the next day anyway.

I woke up early the next morning and got ready to go out and be a tourist seeing temples and doing some more shopping, just to add more weight to my luggage!  The hotel hired an auto-rickshaw driver to stay with me for the day and be by my side while shopping.  Now I know how celebrities feel.  I have to admit I felt safe and nervous all at the same time but it was all good.  The driver was really nice and the first thing we did was go shopping.  It was a bit strange having someone watch and wait for me while I looked around in stores and he even pointed things out for me to buy!  Walking around with him produced many stares and gazes from people but there was nothing I could do.  After buying several things it was time to drive around in the chaos and see some temples.  After all, that’s what Bhubaneswar is famous for are their temples  🙂

20160114_112147        20160114_122819

20160114_122909        20160114_133131

20160114_123253

They were all very beautiful and peaceful.  I felt more spiritual and calm just being there, it was such a great feeling.  These were some of the reasons I chose to do this trip.  I found it interesting how serene I would feel while visiting the temples and then how chaotic I would feel getting back into the auto-rickshaw and the traffic!  This Is India.  Cows are considered Holy in India and they roam the streets in the traffic, I don’t know how they stay safe but they manage to do it thank goodness.  It’s really nice seeing them like this.

After a day of going around, I went back to the hotel to eat and rest.  When Darshith finished work he came by for another visit and we picked up our conversation where we left off and laughed and talked a lot which was so great.  It was nice having a second chance of meeting again but we only had that evening because I was leaving the next day already.  It was time to say good bye again and we all know how good I am at that!  Not.  This time I was actually better than the other time so I was slightly improving.

IMG-20160115-WA0001             IMG-20160115-WA0000

When I think about why I was in India, sometimes I have to pinch myself.  To get a new start and connect more with my blogging friends there.  Through blogging in WordPress you get to know people by how they think because it’s reflected in how they write.  Their thoughts and feelings dig deep inside you leaving a unique mark on you that’s just from them.  I have many of these connections and marks with all of you and I think it’s important to say that it’s a friendship kind of love because we understand and appreciate one another.  Being appreciated and understood are what we all crave and we can achieve that here.  Love is not always attainable; yes it’s wonderful to be loved but more profound to be understood.

The next day I am off to visit my lovely friend NJ and her hubby for a few days and I can’t wait 😀

I had a great time feeding my soul in Bhubaneswar again.

This Is India.

Stay tuned, to be continued in Pune….

Namaste,

Jenny
xo

 

29 thoughts on “This Is India – Part 4

  1. I wonder, if that Dehradun Airport security called Delhi Airport security to ask if the lady from Canada is still alive after drinking that liquid, they would have been happy to know that the liquid was made up of 2 hydrogen compounds & an oxygen compound. 😀 😉
    A journey through memories. 🙂 Sounding great!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Hahahaha…yes I wonder if they called too, I was becoming well known at Delhi airport during my trip and almost recognizable 😉 Maybe they put me on alert list after DehraDun? 😉 Thank you for reading and for your funny comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Jenny ❤ I loved the pictures of all the temples 🙂 They look so serene and beautiful 🙂 I am so happy that I suggested one of them to you 😉 I hope I too visit them some day 😀 I was thinking you would be writing about being crooked 😛 But the all good person you are ..you wont be doing that 🙂 But its good to keep the good as memory and leave the rest in bin 🙂 I am very excited for the next one 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hey Thanks so much NJ!! Yes the temples are great and so peaceful. Haha you are so funny and thank you for calling me a good person 😛 I try to focus on the positives whenever possible.

      Like

  3. Such an honest and beautiful travel account. It’s amazing to see how India changes and morphs one’s soul after one single visit. And I’m sure the myriad flavours of all these different cities must be exciting. Hope you have a lovely trip and enjoy to your heart’s content. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you very much Vidisha for your lovely comments. I’ve always thought of India as a healing place and I am so grateful to have had this experience there. I’m already back in Canada but blogging about my experiences so that I can re-live them all again. I did enjoy to my heart’s content very much ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. As always, lovely scenic words, Jen 🙂 And your water bottle is playing as an adorable sidekick to the protagonist 😀 It’s so entertaining. All the temples you visited are absolutely glorious 🙂 It’s so heart warming to see how much you love India ❤ I'm really looking forward to the next one 😍 Because Neerja Di ("Di" is an affectionate term for older sister) told me weeks ago she was meeting with a lovely blogger friend. And now I remember it was you she mentioned ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • And as always I love reading your comments 🙂 I’m really happy you like my blogs about my trip ❤ My water bottle is hilarious! The only regret I have is not taking a picture of it going through security but I was too nervous with all the guards around me! Oh well everyone will just have to imagine it 😉 That is so great we both know NJ and that she told you about me. It's a small world after all 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I feel as if I am visiting all these beautiful places, through your posts. YAY! You got to see Konark. I am so happy that you enjoyed this trip so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Did I miss anything? 😀 FST, great stop over. I so want to go here too 😦 Sometime soon! So true, that once you read what one has written, you already feel that you know them and more often instantly click when you meet. Hopping over to read the next one 😀 I am sure it is going to be more lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

