Quote Challenge – Day 2

Hi Everyone!  I’m really excited about being nominated for another quote challenge and this time it’s by a very young, sweet blogger from England named Molly.  Her writings are not only entertaining but also based on real life topics and she’s also a great photographer.  I really liked her post 50 things to know about me.  She has a lot in common with many of you because she’s a Game of Thrones fan, F.R.I.E.N.D.S. fan and Harry Potter enthusiast!  It’s a joy to read her writings please check out her site.

For today’s quote, I am dedicating this story to a very special WordPress friend of mine in India who has just gone through a very difficult and stressful time with her mom being sick.  Unfortunately, her mom lost the battle but not without a serious fight, not without unbreakable support and not without undying love.  Dealing with dying forces us to look at our own life review and to understand what it means to face death and embrace living.  For those of us who are left behind we can call on our own support systems and wisdom to promote our own healing.  When we are strong in numbers, we become unbreakable.  Bhavya Mishra, this one’s for you honey ❤

 

One Stick, Two Stick:  The Way of the Old African Kings

An old man is dying.  He calls his people to his side.  He gives a short, sturdy stick to each of his many offspring, wives and relatives.  “Break the stick,” he instructs them.  With some effort, they all snap their sticks in half.

“This is how it is when a soul is alone and without anyone.  They can be easily broken.”

The old man next gives each of his kin another stick, and says, “This is how I would like you to live after I pass.  Tie your sticks together in bundles of twos and threes.”  He waits quietly as his family ties the sticks together.  There are many bundles some of two sticks some of three sticks.  “Now break these bundles in half.”

No one can break the sticks when there are two or more in a bundle.  The old man smiles.  “We are strong when we stand with another soul.  When we are with others, we cannot be broken.”

BundleofSticks

Bhavya, all my sympathies to you and your family my love, please know you are not alone in your grieving and that we are forming bundles with you always ❤

 

So Much Love and Peace To You,

Jen
xo

18 thoughts on “Quote Challenge – Day 2

  1. This is a beautiful yet heart-wrenching tribute, Jen ❤ Bhavya, we're all with you and more importantly, so is Mum. You're going to make her proud by being a strong and brave girl who's going to come out in flying colours in life ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you everyone for all your love n support.. I know I am blessed because I have a mom who was unbelievably amazing n strong.. I don’t know if I have the strength to survive this or not but I know her love will keep me going.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. My mum has been sick lately. And as I have stayed awake night after night, it is those innumerable, crazy convos of Blogger friends over the WA that keep me going. So, at this moment I know that Bhavya is not alone. A BIG gang of strangers are there with her. And I am sure, her mum must be mighty pleased to see her back to life. And thank you immensely Jennifer – for not just this piece but for being a remarkably sensitive human being. Here’s to all this strange Blogger friends: Together we stand….Indeed!!!

    Liked by 4 people

    • Oh Sri, I hope your mom feels better soon…it’s so hard when we have to watch them suffer. You’re right though the WP family convos do give us hope and strength. Thank you for your very kind words for Bhavya, she’s a fighter too she can get through it with our help. I am very grateful to you Sri for your friendship and support. Your words just made my day, you are truly amazing, thank you ❤ We will all stick together!

      Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

