Chocolate (A to Z Challenge)

DSC00933

“Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get.”  ~ Forrest Gump

Chocolate is definitely one of my favorite things in life.  If you can believe it, not a day goes by where I don’t eat some.  I know, shocking but true.  My favorite chocolates are Lindt, Godiva and Galler.  Switzerland and Belgium are the best countries for chocolate in my opinion, I’ve certainly done my worldwide tour in that department and the taste test never lies.  If you’re going to eat chocolate it might as well be the good stuff 😀

In my last post I talked about baking and chocolate definitely plays a part in many of my recipies.

The word chocolate began with the Spanish in Central and South America as chocolatl and later entered the English language as chocolate.  From as far back as 1750 BC people were enjoying chocolate in the form of a warm drink.  Christopher Columbus brought the cocoa beans back to Spain and years later chocolate was all across Europe.  Roughly two-thirds of the entire world’s cocoa is produced in West Africa on the Ivory Coast.

Chocolate is made from the cocoa bean from the cacao tree.  After the beans are picked they are dried and inside the bean is the nib.  The nib is ground and liquefied which then becomes pure chocolate otherwise called chocolate liquor.

Chocolate liquor is blended with the cocoa butter in varying quantities to make different types of chocolate or couvertures. The basic blends of ingredients for the various types of chocolate (in order of highest quantity of cocoa liquor first), are:

  • Dark chocolate: sugar, cocoa butter, cocoa liquor, and (sometimes) vanilla
  • Milk chocolate: sugar, cocoa butter, cocoa liquor, milk or milk powder, and vanilla
  • White chocolate: sugar, cocoa butter, milk or milk powder, and vanilla

 

Personally I prefer milk chocolate but I will eat any type really!  What do you like?

#ImSoHungryAgain

 

Much Love ❤

Jen
xo

 

 

33 thoughts on “Chocolate (A to Z Challenge)

  1. How is it that there is so much similarity between us? I mean I am a hard core chocolate person….I am crazy about them. I eat, make and survive on chocolates. And obviously your blog was a box full of treat for me!! And me too…a milk chocolate person. Aah, too many things in common I guess!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. C for Chocolate!! 😍😍😍 Leave it to Jen to ‘c’ontribute to today’s ‘c’hallenge with something that can melt people like a Hershey Kiss. I loved this, darling! This was what you were talking about yesterday? ❤ Your posts are so YOU, Jen ❤ Sweet and attractive ❤ My favourite 'c'hocolate is Ferrero Rocher, Galaxy, Malteasers, Dairy Milk, Penguin and though it's not particularly a 'c'hocolate, I have a weakness for Oreo biscuits 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh…my…goodness…Deepika ❤ Your comments are so entertaining I just love them to bits ❤ You are one creative girl with all the "c" words. And Ferrero Rocher – HELLO! I also love Oreo's just like you. See that golden Lindt bunny in the pic? He didn't stand a chance at my place 😛

      Like

  3. Wow Jenni. . Yet an another delicious and tasty post. . And I was unaware it (pure chocolate) is called Chocolate liquor. Now I realize why I got addicted to chocolates. 😉 haha. .
    Very informative post on Chocolates. I also prefer milk chocolates. .

    Have a good time. . 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get.” ~ Forrest Gump
    One of my fav quotes 🙂 Chocolate can be your best friend in whatever mood you are in!!!! I love lot of dark chocolate and milk chocolate. And i specially have a craving while i wake up in the night to have water. I always have something in my refrigerator #chocolatelove

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

