Music (A to Z Challenge)

1934199_1701952193372831_2939349601941290657_n

I am a HUGE music lover and I can’t imagine my life without it.  Some days I need the music and other days I need the lyrics.  I read this statement on a Facebook post and it really resonated with me.   The thing about music is that it’s universal, it connects us emotionally and spiritually and it’s the best soul food available around the world.

As a child I learned how to play the piano and took lessons for 8 years which gave me an appreciation of classical music and to this day I still enjoy it but only in certain situations.  When I was studying in school it helped me focus and retain more information because music works the right brain while academics work the left brain.  Therefore, if we are studying in silence we’re using half our brain (left side) but when you add classical music, you are adding your right brain which means your entire brain is working together in equalized harmony and you retain more of what you’re reading.  Now I listen to classical music when I am trying to mentally prepare for something stressful like a big meeting.   Olympic athletes are known to listen to classical music to focus before performing.  My favorite classical piece is Moonlight Sonata by Beethoven.

My tastes have changed over the years and I have to say I like a little bit of everything except heavy metal.  Sorry!  I love to exercise as many of you know and I always need to have upbeat music because it’s motivating and gives me energy, all my troubles fade away.   Even if I am cooking or cleaning, my music needs to be on loud because it makes the time pass and it’s more fun that way.  Anything by Pitbull gets me moving and lately I’ve been listening to Alright and love it, especially singing it in the car 😛  Other upbeat songs are the ones I dance to at Zumba!

On the slower side of music, that’s when I need the lyrics and some songs are so inspirational I could listen to them on repeat for hours on end.  My playlist consists of hundreds of songs so choosing one is hard but if I had to pick one inspiring song it would be Both Sides Now by Joni Mitchell.  The meaning of this song can be interpreted many ways and for me it’s about reflection.  Joni Mitchell uses clouds for her analogy and how as a child you saw both life and love as something light, positive and creative.  As an adult, she describes the dark, negative perspective about how clouds got in the way with life and love.  It’s hard to understand everything about life and love but due to past experiences you see them differently and overall there are no regrets, only memories.  Essentially, the song is about how we look at life and love from both sides now, two sides of the coin.  What I like about the lyrics are the possibilities of perspectives and even though you may lose at something in life or love, you gain the life and love lessons which are both important and beautiful.

Life goes on, and so does my music.  Play, repeat.

Have a wonderful Friday everyone 🙂

 

Much Love ❤

Jen
xo

 

17 thoughts on “Music (A to Z Challenge)

  1. Loved it Jen.
    Apparently for me, music has no boundaries. Any Language, classical, upbeat, rock, few heavy metal, clubbing, Jazz, slow and romantic. It all depends on occasion, mood and ambience 😀

    Music is my life, reason I am surviving. I love this post. It simply defines me!!!!!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Wow! Jenni. . Such a musical post! Loved it. Music really heals and takes us to a different land. Our mind matches with the frequency of the beats and we feel those beats in our heart.. Music has been always special to me, to be frank to every one. It is like life seated in musical notes visits our life and makes it beautiful . . Thanks for this post. And that quote is lovely! Music makes us forget what we remember and make us remember what we forgot!

    Have a great friday Jenni. . 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  3. hehe…I too had Pratyusha sis on my mind when I read….when it is music I think of her…and 8 years..god you must really play well…..I love hearing to music…but only hearing….if I sing people will suicide…..well even I cant bear my voice….that suits only oration and dubbing…..love to hear you play one day

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

